The research, innovation, standards ecosystem in ETSI

Published on:
Tuesday, 24th November, 2020
Rui L. Aguiar, Steering Board Chairman, NETWORLD 2020, (University of Aveiro)
Balazs Bertenyi, 3GPP TSG RAN Chairman, (Nokia)
Anita Dohler, CEO, NGMN
Markus Mueck, Vice Chairman of the ETSI Board, (Intel)
Pearse O'Donohue, Director, Future Networks Directorate, DG CONNECT, (European Commission)
Colin Willcock, 5G IA Board Chairman, (Nokia)
Moderated by Guy Daniels, Director of Content, TelecomTV

To embed our video on your website copy and paste the code below:

<iframe src="" width="970" height="546" frameborder="0" scrolling="auto" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Panel Discussion

There is an opportunity for Europe, but also a risk of being left behind, all industry actors need to pull together in the same direction, research & innovation, standards & open source, all are useful and have an essential role as we move forward. As always fair competition and friendly collaboration are key. ETSI is central to ensuring research is taken into standards and then on to global market deployments. Where are we today and what is needed for tomorrow?


Guy Daniels

Director of Content, TelecomTV


Rui L. Aguiar

Steering Board Chairman, NETWORLD 2020, (University of Aveiro)


Rui L. Aguiar received his degree in telecommunication engineering in 1990 and his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering in 2001 from the University of Aveiro. He is currently a Full Professor at the University of Aveiro, responsible for the networking area, and has been previously an adjunct professor at the INI, Carnegie Mellon University. He was a Visiting Research Scholar at Universidade Federal de Uberlândia, Brazil. He is coordinating a research line nationwide in Instituto de Telecomunicações, on the area of Networks, and is the Director of 5GAIner, the Portuguese 5G+AI Reliability Laboratory. He is the current Chair of the Steering Board of the Networld2020 ETP. He is currently advising the Portuguese Government on 5G policies. His current research interests are centred on the implementation of advanced wireless networks and systems, with special emphasis on 5G networks and the Future Internet. He has more than 500 published papers in those areas, including standardization contributions to IEEE and IETF. He has served as technical and general chair of several conferences, from IEEE, ACM and IFIP, and is regularly invited for keynotes on 5G and Future Internet networks. He is senior member of IEEE, Portugal ComSoc Chapter Chair, and a member of ACM.

Balazs Bertenyi

3GPP TSG RAN Chairman, (Nokia)


Mr Balazs Bertenyi received an M.Sc. Degree in Computer Science and Telecommunications in 1998 at the Technical University of Budapest.

Balazs joined Nokia in 1998 and started to work on circuit switched mobile switching. In 1999 he joined the research group on IP Multimedia and has led various strategic projects for Nokia and then for Nokia Siemens Networks on Core Network architecture and standards.

He started working in 3GPP standardization in 2001, leading the Nokia and later the Nokia Siemens Networks delegation in the architecture group (SA2) of 3GPP.

In 2007 he was elected as Chairman of the Architecture Working Group (SA2) in 3GPP, and served 2 consecutive terms until 2011.

In 2011 he was elected as Chairman of 3GPP Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects (TSG-SA), has been re-elected in 2013, and has been serving as Chairman of this key standards group until March/2015.

With the start of 5G studies Balazs has moved to radio standardization, and has been a delegate in 3GPP RAN covering 5G topics for Nokia. He also led an internal 5G architecture program that drove Nokia’s standardization efforts.

In March/2017 Balazs was elected as Chairman of 3GPP RAN thereby taking a key global role in shaping 5G standards, and has been serving in this role since. In his role Balazs successfully led 3GPP to the creation of the first phase of global 5G standards in 2018, and has led shaping the further evolution of 5G towards its holistic vision.

Anita Döhler



As CEO of the Next Generation Mobile Network (NGMN) Alliance, Anita Döhler is excited to support the world’s leading operators, vendors and research institutes. Together with the NGMN Board her goal is to achieve full 5G realization. She will continue to strengthen the NGMN work programme also by further aligning with NGMN’s cooperation partners and exploring new business areas like vertical industry solutions and other future oriented topics. Anita has more than 30 years of experience in various telecommunication fields including 20 years of senior management responsibilities with operators of mobile communication networks and consulting firms. She has extensive experience in new business development and innovation, ecosystem- and partner management, standardization, technology strategy and product management, digital transformation. From 2016 until 2020, Anita Döhler held senior management positions at Accenture, including one of their Industry X.0 Innovation Centers. Prior to joining Accenture, she was 16 years with Vodafone Group as Senior Manager in Technology and Commercial. She also worked at E-Plus Mobilfunk and Philips. She holds a Dipl.-Ing. degree in Telecommunication Engineering and an executive MBA degree. Further, she is a systemic business coach.

Markus Mueck

Vice Chairman of the ETSI Board, (Intel)


Dr. Markus Mueck received the Dipl.-Ing. and ing. dipl. degrees from the University of Stuttgart, Germany and the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications (ENST), Paris, France respectively in 1999. In 2006, he received the Doctorate degree of ENST in Communications. Dr. Mueck is a Principal Engineer with Intel Deutschland, Munich, Germany and he acts as Vice-Chairman of the ETSI Board, he is member of the ETSI Delegation to 3GPP PCG/OP and to EC Expert Group RED, Member of the Board of the 5G Automotive Association (5GAA), Chairman of the 5GAA Working Group on Standardization and Spectrum and Adj. Professor of University of Technology, Sydney, Australia.

Pearse O'Donohue

Director, Future Networks Directorate, DG CONNECT, (European Commission)


Pearse O'Donohue is Director for the Future Networks Directorate of DG CONNECT, European Commission, dealing with policy development and research as regards 5G networks, IoT, cloud and data flows, service platforms and next generation Internet.

Colin Willcock

5G IA Board Chairman, (Nokia)


Colin has detailed knowledge and experience of the telecommunications industry having worked directly or indirectly with many of the major players over a 28-year period. The roles have included software developer, technical consultant, technical marketing, standardization and management. The software development has been at both the project and product levels including responsible for customer relations and software QA procedures. The management has been at project, program, group and competence area level, often involving multi-site and multi-country responsibilities.

In addition to line manager roles, he has participated extensively in standardization activities at ETSI, ITU-T and 3GPP, including instrumental work in creating and developing the TTCN-3 testing language. Colin has also been very active in the European research ecosystem, including leading a number of award winning European projects such as TT-Medal, D-MINT and SEMAFOUR. Colin is currently head of Radio Network Standardization at Nokia and in addition is also the chairman of the board of the 5G Infrastructure Association.

Email Newsletters

Sign up to receive TelecomTV's top news and videos, plus exclusive subscriber-only content direct to your inbox.