5G Americas elects T-Mobile’s Neville Ray as New Chairman and Hans Ovesen, Ericsson as Treasurer in 2018

Via 5G Americas Newsroom

Dec 20, 2017

BELLEVUE, Wash. – December 19, 2017 – 5G Americas, the industry trade association and voice of 5G and LTE for the Americas, today announced that Neville Ray, Chief Technology Officer and Executive Vice President for T-Mobile U.S., Inc. has been elected to serve as the 2018 Chairman of the 5G Americas Board of Governors. 5G Americas Board has also re-elected Hans Ovesen, Director, Group Function and Government, Industry Relations at Ericsson, to serve as the organization’s Treasurer.

"We are honored to have Neville Ray as the incoming Chairman of the 5G Americas Board of Governors and are enthusiastic about his leadership as the 5th generation of wireless technology unfolds on the horizon," said Chris Pearson, President of 5G Americas. “It is a further honor that Hans Ovesen, with his vast experience with global organizations, will continue to serve as Treasurer.”

Neville Ray has more than 25 years of experience in the design, deployment and operational management of wireless networks in the United States and worldwide, and is recognized for his leadership in the telecommunications industry. His work comprises all aspects of wireless network deployment, including radio planning and optimization. Ray is responsible for the national management and ongoing development of T-Mobile’s wireless network, as well as the company’s technology innovations, IT services and operations. Ray has been a member of the 5G Americas Board for more than seven years including past terms as Chairperson.

Ray commented, “Over the years, 5G Americas has had a significant and positive impact on the mobile industry in the Americas region providing technical and regulatory leadership for the connected wireless world. It is my privilege to be elected as the Board leader to continue to progress wireless technology in the Americas through the strategic work at 5G Americas.”

Hans Ovesen has been with Ericsson for more than 25 years and is responsible for the company’s work with numerous global industry groups and organizations. Ovesen has been active with the 5G Americas Board of Governors for over ten years and his continued leadership supports an international vision to Board.

5G Americas' Board of Governors members include: América Móvil, AT&T, Cable & Wireless, Cisco, CommScope, Entel, Ericsson, Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE), Intel, Kathrein, Mavenir, Nokia, Qualcomm Incorporated, Samsung, Sprint, T-Mobile US, Inc. and Telefónica.

5G Americas is an industry trade organization composed of leading telecommunications service providers and manufacturers. The organization's mission is to advocate for and foster the advancement and full capabilities of LTE wireless technology and its evolution beyond to 5G, throughout the ecosystem's networks, services, applications and wirelessly connected devices in the Americas. 5G Americas is invested in developing a connected wireless community while leading 5G development for all the Americas. 5G Americas is headquartered in Bellevue, Washington. More information is available at www.5gamericas.org.

This content extract was originally sourced from an external website (5G Americas Newsroom) and is the copyright of the external website owner. TelecomTV is not responsible for the content of external websites. Legal Notices

Email Newsletters

Sign up to receive TelecomTV's top news and videos, plus exclusive subscriber-only content direct to your inbox.